top of page

    TonyBoy MARIN

      Actor, Singer, Model from age 7 to 12.              He took a break and is now 16.  Watch for        updates! 

1st day with Broadway's "The King and I"

We arrived in New York today, January 5, 2016. We flew with American Airlines on a flight with a stop-over in Atlanta with the final destination at Newark Airport. Had I known that LaGuardia was closer, we would have chose it as our destination instead of Newark. But, we chose an airport that was familiar to us.

We traveled on the airporter shuttle from EWR to Holiday Inn at W 57th street. Fare cost $42 total. It was 8 degrees Fahrenheit in EWR when we arrived.

Right after we checked in at Holiday Inn, we had a little time to eat, shower, and then report to Lincoln Center.

We arrived early. As you can see in my first few photos, I was sitting outside waiting for them to call or pick me up by the Backstage door. Patrick finally came outside and led me to the fitting room. After that, I was led to hair and make-up for a wig fitting. They made a wig just for me to use during the show. I learned that the wigs are quite expensive too. We then went outside again only to be picked up by management to join the rest of the new recruits. There were 5 of us. In the meeting room, we met Matthew and Jessica who were management, and then the 3 ladies, Lauren, Jean Marie, and Rachel; the guardians who we would be reporting to at work everyday.

During that meeting, we gave them additional documentations that management needed, then we were given house tickets to see the show.

It was a magnificent show. I was pretty amazed at how big the boat actually was. The stage moved with the boat towards the audience. That opening alone was magnificent. It was my first time watching a Broadway show after all. I was mesmerized by the amazing performance all the way to the end.

The show was over at 10PM. I was incredibly excited that I was about to join the cast of this beautiful show! I was an understudy for Prince Chulalongkorn as well as a swing for all the kids.

It was very late when we got out of the beautiful Lincoln Center Theater. We walked with the rest of the crowd towards the direction of our hotel. They definitely weren't kidding when they said, New York is the city that doesn't sleep. It was a good walk. It was almost 11PM when we got to our hotel room, yet the city was very much alive.

On our way back, we stopped by Morton Williams to get me some chocolate milk! Morton Williams is just along the way to our hotel.

I had to move fast to get to bed before midnight. Sleep was one of the most important aspect of life for this growing boy. So, mom made sure I got to bed before midnight.

Well, today had been busy, so I wasn't able to do any school work. I attend an online school called K-12. I am an advanced student - 8th grade Math, 6th grade Science and History, and the rest are regular 5th grade classes. So, it's no big deal that didn't get to do school today.

Goodnight!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page